Sleep Medicine Section council 2017-18



Dr Hugh Selsick

Honorary Secretary


Professor Jim Horne

Honorary Treasurer


Dr Gillian Twigg

Gillian Twigg started her career in sleep medicine at the Royal Brompton Hospital, where she spent 3 years studying the effects of intermittent hypoxia on brain structure and function, using obstructive sleep apnoea as a model. She realised early in her training that there was something she found fascinating about watching people’s EEG change during sleep and on completion of her PhD in 2008, she decided to pursue a career in clinical sleep medicine. She is currently Principal Clinical Scientist and diagnostic sleep service lead at the Imperial College Healthcare Sleep Centre at Charing Cross Hospital.

Trainee Representative


Dr Dipesh Mistry


Student Representative


Mr Abidemi Otaiku

Student Representative


Miss Noori Husain

Other members

Immediate Past President - Dr Graeme Wilson

Academic Board Representative - Dr Hugh Selsick

Membership Officer - Dr Kirstie Anderson

VLUG Representative - Mr Abidemi Otaiku

Other Member - Dr Aditi Desai

Other Member - Dr David O'Regan

Other Member - Dr Christopher Idzikowski

Other Member - Dr Ari Manuel

Other Member - Dr Jane Hicks