Skip to navigation Skip to content

The Royal Society of Medicine welcomes new Honorary Fellows and medal winners

A special ceremony was held at the Royal Society of Medicine on Tuesday 27 July 2021 to induct the Society’s new Honorary Fellows, to award RSM Medals and to formally inaugurate Professor Roger Kirby as President of the RSM.

RSM's highest accolade awarded to Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert

An Honorary Fellowship and the Society’s highest accolade, the RSM Gold Medal, were awarded to Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert in recognition of her extraordinary contribution to the response to the Covid-19 pandemic. Saïd Professor of Vaccinology at Oxford University, Dame Sarah is co-creator of the Oxford/Astra Zeneca Covid-19 vaccine.

Professor Roger Kirby and Professor Dame Sarah Gilbert

Honorary Fellows

Professor Roger Kirby said: “Our new Honorary Fellows are all distinguished in their fields and have made remarkable contributions to society across the globe. We celebrate their achievements in medical science and healthcare as well as recognising our outstanding medal winners. I am immensely proud to be part of the Royal Society of Medicine.”

Dr Samantha Shinde, President of RSM Anaesthesia Section, Dr Iain Glen and Professor Roger Kirby

Dr Iain Glen discovered and developed propofol, a low carbon emissions drug which has transformed anaesthetic practice and improved patient care. 

Dame Clare Marx

Dame Clare Marx is an orthopaedic surgeon and former President of the Royal College of Surgeons of England. Since 2019 she has been Chair of the General Medical Council.

Professor Ketan Dhatariya, President of RSM Endocrinology & Diabetes Section, Professor Sir Stephen O’Rahilly and Professor Roger Kirby

Professor Sir Stephen O’Rahilly is an expert in the field of the genetics of diabetes and obesity and is the UK's most distinguished endocrinologist on the international stage. 

Professor Baron Peter Piot

Professor Baron Peter Piot co-discovered the Ebola virus in Zaire in 1976 and is the Director of The London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine. His recent research focuses on policy and politics related to AIDS, Ebola and global health.

Professor Sir Simon Wessely, Professor Roger Kirby and Mr Babulal Sethia

Mr Babulal Sethia is a cardiac surgeon and a past President of the Royal Society of Medicine. He is pictured here with Immediate Past-President of the RSM, Professor Sir Simon Wessely, and Professor Roger Kirby. During the ceremony, Sir Simon received the RSM Past-President's Medal.

Dr Sarah Wollaston

Dr Sarah Wollaston is a former MP and cross-party Health and Social Care Committee Chair. 


Dr Bernard Ho, President-Elect of Trainees Section, Dr Afsana Elanko and Professor Roger Kirby

RSM Medals were awarded to Dr Afsana Elanko, Director of Education for the British Association of Surgical Oncology (BASO), who has inspired and helped a generation of trainees within the RSM, nationally and internationally; and to Mr Stephen Gilbert (below) in recognition of his exceptional service to the Royal Society of Medicine.

Mr Stephen Gilbert and Professor Roger Kirby
Professor Roger Kirby with Royal Society of Medicine Chief Executive Michele Acton
Oscar-nominated actress, Vanessa Kirby, celebrated her father’s inauguration as President of the Royal Society of Medicine

Watch the ceremony

Skip to top