Skip to navigation Skip to content

RSM members celebrated in New Year Honours list 2017

The Royal Society of Medicine offers its congratulations to the following members who have been recognised in Her Majesty the Queen’s New Year honours list 2017.

Members of Order of the Companions of Honour

Sir Roger Bannister CBE. For services to Sport.

Professor Sir Alec Jeffreys. Emeritus Professor, University of Leicester. For services to Medical Research and Society.

The Right Honourable the Baroness Helen Mary Warnock DBE. For services to charity and Children with Special Educational Needs.

Knights Bachelor

Mr David Sloman. Chief Executive, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust. For services to the NHS.


Mrs Cecilia Anim. President, Royal College of Nursing and Clinical Nurse Specialist in Women's Health. For services to Women's Health.

Professor Kamaldeep Bhui. Professor of Cultural Psychiatry and Epidemiology, Queen Mary University of London. For services to Mental Health Research and Care.

Dr Desmond Biddulph. President and Member, Buddhist Society. For services to Interfaith Relations.


Professor Jacqueline Dunkley-Bent. Head of Maternity, NHS England. For services to Midwifery.

Professor Ghulam Mufti. Professor of Haemato-oncology, School of Medicine, King’s College London. For services to Haematological Medicine.


Professor Wen Guo Jiang. Professor of Medicine, Cardiff China Medical Research Collaborative, Cardiff University. For services to International Cancer Research.

Skip to top