About this event

  • Date and time Wed 27 Oct 2021 from 10:55am to 6:30pm
  • Location Online

The Jenner Glycobiology and Medicine symposia were the first and main international multidisciplinary conferences set up to examine the relevance of glycobiology to immunology, medicine and clinical practice. This 14th meeting aims to provide an international forum for researchers to disseminate the findings of current leading-edge research in both novel and classic fields of glycobiology, glycoimmunology and glycomedicine. 

Attendance is free.

This symposium is aimed at scientists and clinicians at all levels and all disciplines involved in the research and management of human diseases. 

The programme will consist of a single day of talks on 27 October 2021 (from 10:55 to 18:30 CET) spread across four sessions centred on glycosylation and glycan recognition, glycosylation in innate and adaptive immunity, translational glycobiology and a plenary session. This will be provided by Sir Greg Winter, Nobel Laureate.

Scroll down to see the agenda for this event. Please note that the times specified in this event are in Central European Time (CET). This means the start time will be 9:55am (BST) or 4:55am (ET). 

Scientific Committee:

Dr Roisin O’Flaherty: Orchestration

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, Maynooth University, Ireland. 

Professor John Axford DSc MD FRCP FRCPCH (CHAIR)

Emeritus Professor of Clinical Rheumatology, St George's University of London. 

Professor Ghislain Opdenakker, MD, PhD, FRCP: University of Leuven Coordinator 

Head of Immunobiology, University of Leuven, Belgium.  

Professor Henrik Clausen   

University of Copenhagen, Faculty of Health Sciences, Centre for Glycomics, Denmark. 

Prof. Dr. Rita Gerardy-Schahn 

Institute of Clinical Biochemistry, Hannover Medical School, Germany. 

 Prof. Claudine Kieda, PhD DSc 

Centre de Biophysique Moléculaire-CNRS UPR4301, France. 

Professor Celso A. Reis 

Glycobiology in Cancer, i3S - Instituto de Investigação e Inovação em Saúde, Universidade do Porto, Portugal. 

Professor Pauline Rudd 

Emerita Professor, University College Dublin, Ireland. 

Dr Azita Sadrieh 

St George’s, University of London, UK. 


This meeting is in collaboration with the Rega Institute, KU Leuven, Belgium and the Royal Society of Medicine.

We would like to thank the sponsor of this event Newcastle Fighters, as diverse as sugars.


Disclaimer: All views expressed in this webinar are of the speakers themselves and not of the RSM.


View the programme

Opening Ceremony

Professor John Axford

Session 1: Innate and adaptive immunity

Chairs: Professor Claudine Kieda and Professor Henrik Clausen

Glycosylation Repurposes Alpha-1 Antitrypsin for Resolution of Community-acquired Pneumonia.

Professor Emer Reeves

Role of glycan binding during viral attachment to cell surfaces using AFM.

Professor David Alsteens

Fine tuning the Spike: Role of the glycan shields nature and topology in the SARS-Cov2

Dr Elisa Fadda

Animal models and vaccine candidates for COVID-19

Dr Kai Dallmeier

Session 2: In conversation with Sir Greg Winter

Interviewer: Professor John Axford


Session 3: Glycosylation and Glycan Recognition

Chair: Dr. Roisin O’Flaherty and Professor Pauline Rudd

Binding of malarial VAR2CSA to oncofetal chondroitin sulfate depends on sulfation and ligand accessibility.

Dr Thomas Clausen

Understanding the molecular machinery that drives sialic acid O-acetylation.

Dr Martina Mühlenhoff

O-glycopeptidases: unique catalysts that recognize post-translational glycan modifications as a requirement for hydrolysing peptide bonds.

Dr Alisdair Boraston

Small RNAs are modified with N-glycans and displayed on the surface of living cells.

Dr. Ryan Flynn

Session 4: Translational Glycobiology

Chair: Professor Celso Reis and Professor Ghislain Opdenakker

Chemical Editing of Proteoglycan Architecture.

Dr Mia Huang

Glycosylated neuropeptide hormones offer therapeutic advantages

Dr Thomas Madsen

Galectins: soluble glyco-checkpoints at the cross-road of inflammation and cancer.

Professor Gabriel Rabinovitch

Closing Ceremony and Jenner XV

Professor Celso Reis