Academic Board

The Academic Board is responsible for the academic function of the Society. It brings together Presidents of all Sections or their representatives with ex officio members including the Dean, Chief Executive and the Director of Education. The Academic Board’s remit is to consider educational matters and academic initiatives pertaining to Sections and to consider changes and improvements to the organisation of meeting programmes and organisation of Sections and  Networks.

The most recent minutes are available upon request by emailing

Key meeting dates: academic year 2017/2018:

Thursday 18th January 2018


Marcus Beck Library

Wednesday 16th May 2018


Duke of Chandos Room - Chandos House

Monday 1st October 2018

(followed by Section Council Reception)


Duke and Duchess of Chandos Rooms - Chandos House


Atrium - RSM

Academic Board meetings last approximately two hours and are followed by a networking drinks reception.

Academic Board attendees

Chairman of Academic Board

Professor Roger Kirby

Professor Roger Kirby MD, FRCS


Professor Simon Wessely

Professor Sir Simon Wessely MD, FRCP, FRCPSYCH, FMEDSCI


Fiona Moss

Dr Fiona Moss CBE, MD, FRCP


Director of Learning


Bridget Gildea 

Other members


Presidents from each of the Section Councils and each of the RSM’s Internal Societies. A full list of representatives can be obtained from the Academic Department.