The Council is the governing body of the Society and Council members are the Society’s Trustees. A permanent team of Directors and their staff support the work of Council.

There are two Standing Committees.

  1. The Audit Committee, chaired by Mr Stephen Gilbert reports directly to Council and is responsible for audit and risk management.
  2. The Academic Board, chaired by Professor Alan Roberts, is responsible for the academic function of the Society. It consists of the Presidents of all Sections or their representatives together with appropriate ex officio members including the Dean amongst others. The Academic Board’s remit is to provide academic initiatives and to consider changes and improvements to the organisation of meeting programmes for the Sections and the Society.

The Dean (Dr Fiona Moss) is responsible for Continuing Professional Development and the accreditation of Section meetings and e-learning programmes.

The RSM Council meets throughout the year. Only RSM members and Fellows can access the Minutes of RSM Council meetings

placeholder img

Nominations for Council for the 2017/18 Session

Nominations are now being sought for four Members of Council to take office starting with the 2017/18 Session, to help shape the key role that the RSM plays in the education of healthcare professionals. Deadline for applications is Wednesday 29 March 2017.