Skip to navigation Skip to content

RSM members recognised in the New Year Honours List 2024

The Royal Society of Medicine offers congratulations to those members who have been recognised in the New Year Honours List 2024. 

Dames Grand Cross of the Order of the British Empire 

Professor Dame Carol Mary Black DBE, Independent Adviser on Combatting Drugs, Honorary Fellow of the Royal Society of Medicine. 

For Public Service. 

Dames Commander of the Order of the British Empire 

Dianne Michele Jeffrey CBE DL, Lately Trustee and Founder Chair, Age International. 

For services to Older People Abroad and to the community in Derbyshire. 

Professor Valerie Joan Lund CBE, Emeritus Professor in Rhinology, University College London. Past-President of the RSM Laryngology & Rhinology Section. 

For services to Rhinology. 


Professor Neil James McCready Mortensen, Lately President, Royal College of Surgeons of England.  

For services to Surgery. 

Commanders of the Order of the British Empire 

Professor Margaret (Maggie) Mary Rae, Lately President, UK Faculty of Public Health. Trustee of the Royal Society of Medicine and President of the RSM Epidemiology and Public Health Section. 

For services to Public Health and to Public Health Standards. 

Dr Mala Rao OBE, Senior Clinical Fellow, Imperial College London.  

For services to Public Health, the NHS, and to Equality and Diversity. 

Officers of the Order of the British Empire 

Professor Simon Edward Kenny, National Clinical Director for Children and Young People, NHS England and Consultant Paediatric Surgeon, Alder Hey Children's Hospital.  

For services to Paediatric Surgery. 

Members of the Order of the British Empire 

Professor Panagiotis Giannoudis, Professor of Trauma and Orthopaedics, University of Leeds and Founder, Day One Trauma Support.  

For services to Trauma and Orthopaedic Surgery. 

Dr Richard Kenneth Howard Wyse, Director of Clinical Development, Cure Parkinson's and Past-President of the RSM Medical Genetics Section.  

For services to Medicine in Parkinson's Disease. 

Medallists of the Order of the British Empire 

Dr Jahangir Alom, Doctor and Campaigner, NHS.  

For services to Tackling Health Inequalities, particularly during Covid-19.

Dr Michael Bartlett, Medical Educator, Hywel Dda Health Board and the Royal National Lifeboat Institution.  

For services to Medical Education. 

Dr Terry Martin John, Lately General Practitioner, The Firs Medical Centre, London Borough of Waltham Forest and lately Chair of International Committee, British Medical Association.  

For services to Medicine. 

Skip to top