Skip to navigation Skip to content

New Year Honours 2023

The Royal Society of Medicine would like to congratulate all those who have been recognised in the New Year Honours List 2023. We are delighted to see members of the RSM community acknowledged for their important contributions and service to medicine and healthcare. 

RSM Members:

Member of the Order of the Companions of Honour 

Professor Sir Michael Gideon Marmot 

Director, Institute of Health Equity, University College London 

For services to public health 

Officers of the Order of the British Empire 

Carol Margaret Kefford 

Lately Chief Nurse and Clinical Director, Nuffield Health 

For services to nursing 

Dr Lucy Lord 

Co-Founder, Patient Care Foundation; Co-Founder and Executive Chair, Mind Hong Kong 

For services to health in Hong Kong 

Members of the Order of the British Empire  

June Deidre Sanders 

President, Family Lives 

For services to charity and mental health 

John Mills 

Vice-Chair and Director of Operations, Vasculitis UK 

For services to people with rare diseases 

Other contributors to the RSM: 

Among those honoured were several individuals who have long-standing relationships with the RSM. These include: 


Dr Mayur Keshavji Lakhani 

Chair, Faculty of Medical Leadership and Management and General Practitioner, Highgate Medical Centre, Loughborough 

For services to General Practice 

Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire  

Professor Robina Shahnaz Shah 

Director, Doubleday Centre for Patient Experience 

For services to Patient Care  

Officer of the Order of the British Empire 

Dr Richard Charles Horton 

Editor-in-Chief, The Lancet 

For services to Health and Medical Journalism  

Skip to top