Skip to navigation Skip to content

Candidates confirmed for election of next RSM President 

Four candidates will take part in an election to decide who will be the next President of the Royal Society of Medicine.  

The candidates are:  

  • Professor Alun Davies (top left)  
  • Miss Rachel Hargest (bottom left)  
  • Professor Gillian Leng (top right)  
  • Professor Paul O’Flynn (bottom right)  

Voting in the election opens in early May 2023.   

This will be the first time in the RSM’s 218-year history that the membership will be able to vote for the next President. Most recently, Presidents have been elected by a vote of RSM Council Trustees.   

RSM members are invited to watch a special Q&A session with the candidates on Tuesday 25 April 2023, from 6:30pm to 8:00pm.  

You can book your place online now.  

The event will give members an insight into the individuals vying to lead the RSM for three years from July 2024. Candidates will have the opportunity to set out their vision for the RSM, before answering pre-submitted questions from RSM members.  

The event will be chaired by Victoria Macdonald, Health and Social Care Editor at Channel 4 News.  

Between 22 March and 10 April 2023, members were invited to submit their questions for consideration.

Skip to top