Skip to navigation Skip to content

New RSM Trustees and Vice-President begin terms

A new Vice-President and four new Trustees have taken up their roles at the Royal Society of Medicine (RSM). 

New Vice-President Professor Henrietta Bowden-Jones OBE took to Twitter to mark the start of her term, posting: “This 200-year-old institution is at the core of medical learning. I feel honoured to be part of its future. A pleasure to be working closely with such great colleagues.” 

Joining her, and others, on the RSM Council are four new Trustees, elected by members in June 2022: 

  • Mr Ian Currie, a consultant urogynaecologist and a former Vice-President of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists 
  • Professor Paul O'Flynn, a consultant ENT surgeon and former President of the RSM Laryngology and Rhinology Section 
  • Dr Linda Patterson, a consultant physician and former clinical Vice-President at the Royal College of Physicians 
  • Professor Maggie Rae, former President of the Faculty of Public Health and President of the RSM Epidemiology and Public Health Section 

They started their three-year terms on 1 October 2022. 

Professor Roger Kirby, RSM President, said: “It is a great pleasure to welcome our new Vice-President and Trustees as we look to further implement the RSM’s five-year strategy.  

“There is a strong, and shared commitment to the vision at the heart of the strategy, and our new Trustees join us at an exciting time in the Society’s history. 

“We are truly grateful for our Trustees’ unstinting dedication and service to the RSM.”  

The four Trustee vacancies were created by the departure of Professor Linda Luxon, who stepped down earlier this year, and by Dr Claire Bayntun, Dr Elizabeth Haxby and Dr Stephanie Kaye-Barrett reaching the end of their terms. 

Skip to top