Wesleyan RSM trainee of the year final


Thursday 23 November 2017


Venue Royal Society of Medicine
1 Wimpole Street
Organised by

RSM Professionals



Event Image

about this event

This evening meeting will celebrate trainee prize winners from the 2016/17 academic year, winners of Section prizes are nominated and shortlisted for the chance to win the Wesleyan Trainee of the year award.
We will be awarding prizes to both oral and poster finalists.
The 5 finalist Sections this year are;
  • Cardiology
  • Coloproctology
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Respiratory Medicine
Oral presenters
Five oral finalists will present for 10 minutes followed by a 5 minute Q&A session with the audience and finalist judges. 

The 5 finalists have an opportunity to win the following prizes:
  • 1st prize: £3,000 plus one years RSM membership
  • 2nd prize: £1,000 plus one years RSM membership
  • 3rd prize: £500 plus one years RSM membership
Prizes will be given to the top three posters:
  • 1st prize: £300 and certificate  
  • 2nd prize: £150 and certificate  
  • 3rd prize: £50 and certificate  

So come along to this fantastic evening to see both oral and poster finalists present, network with colleagues and celebrate the great achievements of all our prize winners from the academic year 2016/17.

Oral judges on the evening include:

  • Dr Fiona Moss, Dean, Royal Society of Medicine
  • Sir Simon Wessely, President, Royal Society of Medicine
  • Dr Keith Ridge CBE, Chief Pharmaceutical Officer for England, NHS England
  • Professor Gillian Leng CBE, Deputy Chief Executive, National Institute for Health and Care Excellence


This meeting is free for all to attend.

* Following registration you will be contacted appropriately by email with; your booking confirmation, feedback survey and attendance certificate. For full details of the RSM privacy policy, click here

Programme subject to change. 


5.30 pm

Registration, tea and coffee

Poster viewing and judging

6.15 pm

Welcome address

Professor Sir Simon Wessely, President, Royal Society of Medicine

6.20 pm

Eosinophil deficiency promotes aberrant repair, adverse remodelling and poor clinical outcome following acute myocardial infarction

Dr Iqbal Toor, Cardiology Section, Cardiology Registrar, University of Edinburgh

6.35 pm

NQO1 is a predictive biomarker and novel therapeutic target in metastatic colorectal cancer

Mr Paul Sutton, Coloproctology Section, Specialty Registrar General and Colorectal Surgery and Honorary Senior Lecturer, University of Liverpool

6.50 pm

Preliminary therapeutic target validation of the IL-36 receptor in psoriasis

Dr Satveer Mahil, Dermatology Section, SpR Dermatology, St John's Institute of Dermatology, London

7.05 pm

Major incident triage: The development and comparative analysis of the Modified Physiological Triage Tool (MPTT)

Dr James Vassallo, Emergency Medicine Section, ST2 Emergency Medicine, Defence Medical Services

7.20 pm

Mimicking viral responses with a nasal TLR7/8 agonist induces enhanced mucosal interferon and chemokine responses in allergic asthmatics

Dr Akhilesh Jha, Respiratory Medicine Section, Honorary Clinical Research Fellow, Imperial College London

7.35 pm

Drinks reception with street food

Open to all delegates

8.00 pm

Announcement of prize winners

9.00 pm

Close of meeting

register for this event

  • Online registration has closed
  • Spaces are available to register on the day


View rates for all membership types:

View rates

Proud sponsor

Wesleyan visit the website arrow

contact us

For information on this event, contact:
Jodie Phillips
Assistant Events Team Manager
RSM Professionals
The Royal Society of Medicine
1 Wimpole Street, London W1G 0AE
T: +44(0)20 7290 3928

rsmprofessionals@rsm.ac.uk arrow

contact us

Education department
The Royal Society of Medicine
1 Wimpole Street, London W1G 0AE
T: +44(0)20 7290 3941

events@rsm.ac.uk arrow

organiser's details

For information on this event, contact Tasha ShawTel: 020 7290 3867 Fax: 020 7290 2992 Email: rsmprofessionals@rsm.ac.uk arrow